The many faces of FourSight

The FourSight concert programmes are designed to look at music with a fresh approach. Each programme allows the musicians of FourSight to demonstrate the wide range of influences and skills they bring to bear, while showing the instinctive communication that gives the group such a strong presence on stage.

The dynamic and diverse backgrounds of the musicians, together with their warm and witty on-stage introductions, leave audiences fascinated and spellbound, with the addition of electric violin and world percussion making this a unique experience.

A significant part of the repertoire is contemporary and 20th century, featuring many new works written especially for the group, as well as innovative new interpretations of early music.

Programme 1: ElectroRenaissance – early music given a new treatment and an electric slant

Programme to include:

  • Georg Philipp Telemann – Sonata (sax & marimba)
  • Explorations of Telemann – (improvisation featuring looping electric violin, electric keyboard, sax & percussion)
  • Max Beckshafer – The Image of Melancholy (solo violin)
  • Anthony Holborne – Paduana “The Image of Melancolly” (arranged for FourSight)
  • William Byrd – My Lady Nevell’s Ground (new realisation for FourSight for clarinet, perc, violin & keyboard)

Programme 2: EthnoClassical Fusion – world music and its influence on classical music

Programme to include:

  • Igor Stravinsky – The Soldier’s Tale (Stravinsky’s own trio arrangement) with narrator Pierre Max Dubois – Circus Parade (sax & drumkit)
  • Tim Watts – Suriya (for FourSight)
  • Laurie Dunkin Wedd – Django (violin & piano)
  • Paul Burnell – Rhombidodecadodecahedron (piano & steel pan)
  • Darius Milhaud – Trio (clarinet, violin, piano)

Programme 3: Jazz / New Perspectives – late night cool meets cutting edge contemporary

Programme to include:

  • Stewart Copeland – Grace Eleanor (sax, electric violin, piano & drumkit)
  • Paul Burnell – The Dreaminess of the 1500 metres runner (bass clarinet, electric violin, piano & percussion)
  • Chick Corea – Spain (clarinets, violin, piano & drumkit)
  • Stephen Montague – Black ‘n’ Blues (piano, marimba & pillow)
  • Akira Yuyama – Divertimento (sax & marimba)
  • Adrian Sutcliffe – New Work (for FourSight)

Comments are closed